My Blog

Brief History of the Department

The Department came into stream in 1991 when Prof C. S. Ola, Dr. A. O. Oba, Mr. K. J. Osanyibi, Mr. S. A. Adereti, Mr. Osesusi and Mrs. A. R. Ayeni-Agbaje were invited by the then Vice-Chancellor Prof P. O. Bodunrin to start off the Department. While the other two units (Entrepreneurship and Actuarial Science) under this Department came on board in 2017. The first set of students came in immediately in 1991and they graduated in 1995/1996 Session, since then the department has been turning out graduates annually.



Prof. C. S. Ola – 1991-1997


Mrs. A. R. Ayeni-Agbaje – 1997-1998


Prof. C. S. Ola – 1998-2001


Dr. A. A. Owojori – 2001-2002


Dr. H. T. Iwarere – 2002-2003


Dr. S. A. Olorunsola – 2003-2004


Mrs. A. R. Ayeni-Agbaje – 2004-2005


Mr. O. I. Awe – 2005-2006


Dr. H. T. Iwarere – 2006-2010


Dr. A. A. Sulaimon – 2010-2011


Mr. F. O. Olaoye – 2011-2012


Dr. A. A. Awe 2012 – 2013


Mr. C. O. Olaoye – 2013-2014


Dr. G. T. Akinleye – 2014-2016


Dr. C. O. Olaoye – 2016-2018


Dr. F. O. Olaoye – 2018-2020


Dr. A. A. Ogunmakin – 2020 till Date



The Objectives and Mission Statement

Objectives of the Department

The programme in Accounting (Entrepreneurship and Actuarial Science) is designed to:

– develop men and women of good behaviour, unquestionable character.

– train students with good ethical conduct and moral uprightness coupled with sound academic competence.

– develop the mind, impart both theoretical and practical knowledge on individuals to develop self-  confidence.


Mission Statement of the Department:

To offer high quality undergraduate and postgraduate programme in Accounting (Entrepreneurship and Actuarial Science) and carry out research that will permit our students to compete with international standard, thereby attaining professional distinction and proficiency.

Accounting Department and Units

The department that was established in 1991 presently operates under three (3) main units namely:

–  Accounting

–  Entrepreneurship

–  Actuarial Sciences

Admission Requirements and Entry Qualifications

The admission requirements for the B.Sc. Accounting Degree and her units shall be as follows:

  1. Candidates seeking admission into four-year degree programme should possess a Senior Secondary School Certificate or General Certificate of Education (GCE) or their equivalents as approved by the University Senate from time to time, with at least five credit passes with must include two Social Sciences subjects. The relevant subjects must include English Language, Mathematics and Economics. The candidates must also pass the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) examinations with the cut-off point as may be determined by the Senate from time to time but now below the minimum set by the other recognized Universities.
  2. For the three year programme, a candidate is expected to possess a Senior Secondary Certificate or General Certificate of Education (GCE) or their equivalents as approved by the University Senate from time to time, with at least five credit passes which must include English Language, Mathematics and Economics. The candidate should also possess credit passes in Economics and Accounting or Mathematics at the Advanced Level.
  3. Candidates who possess pass in the whole of the Foundation Examinations of the Institute of Chartered Accountant of Nigeria (ICAN) or of any other recognized Accountancy body or pass all the stages of the Accounting Technicians Scheme are also eligible.
  4. Candidates who scored a minimum of Upper Credit in National Diploma (ND) in Accounting or University of Ado-Ekiti Diploma Certificate in Accounting.
  5. Candidates who possess HND in relevant discipline with at least Lower Credit in addition to five credit passes stated above.
  6. In addition, the candidates for the (c to e) above must possess the basic Ordinary Level requirements as stated in (b) above.

Duration of Study

The Department’s undergraduate programme can be completed through a 4 year course of studies in the Department.

General Services and Academic Programmes

The running and management of the Department depend on the following organs and administrative structure:

– The Head of Department and Chairman of Departmental Board.

– The Departmental Board consists of the Head of Department as Chairman, one representative from each of the Departments in the Faculty and all Lecturers of the Department.

– The Department also sets up various committees to assist the Head of Department; such as the Academic Staff Review, Non-Teaching Staff Review, Admission Matters, Examination Matters, and Research Fund Management, Journal and Handbook Publication and other statutory and special matters.